top of page

Society for Theatre Research announces its prize judges

The Society for Theatre Research has announced its judges for the Theatre Book Prize 2022.

Representing theatre critics, academia and theatre professionals, director and Tara Arts founder Jatinder Verma; head of archive at the National Theatre, Erin Lee, and theatre critic Paul Vale will appoint a winner as part of a panel chaired by STR committee member Howard Loxton.

This is the 24th STR theatre book prize, the aim of which is to encourage the writing and publication of books on British-related theatre history and practice.

Recent winners include Black British Women’s Theatre by Nicola Abrams; Year of the Mad King: The King Lear Diaries by Antony Sher; Different Drummer: The Life of Kenneth Macmillan by Jann Parry; Margot Fonteyn by Meredith Daneman and Balancing Acts by Nicholas Hytner.

Previous members of the judging panel include actors Penelope Keith and Corin Redgrave, producer Thelma Holt, actress-director Yvonne Brewster and critics Michael Billington and Daisy Bowie-Sell.

Submissions are now being accepted for books published in 2021, closing date is January 17 2022. Details of how to nominate a book are on the Society for Theatre Research website.

The shortlist titles for the 2022 Prize will be announced in early May and the winner in June.

Chair of the panel Howard Loxton said, "We are looking forward to a rich selection of books this year, lock down seems to have encouraged people to put pen to paper, including theatre professionals.”

More information here


bottom of page